RFI journalist, Kannywood actress Rahama Hassan, Radio France International journalist Salisu Hamisou, and actors Ali Nuhu and Lawal Ahmad at the AMAA press conference. (c)
RFI journalist, Kannywood actress Rahama Hassan, Radio France International journalist Salisu Hamisou, and actors Ali Nuhu and Lawal Ahmad at the AMAA press conference. (c)

Kannywood actor and winner of the Best Supporting Actor award in the just concluded 2016 Kannywood awards, Lawal Ahmed, speaks to Perspective View eMagazine about the choice of winners of the awards.

PV: Many Kannywood observers and fans we spoke to argued that this year’s award was biased. Do you agree with that?

Lawal: I do not share that sentiment with those who said that the award was done with some kind of favouritism. And I am saying this not because I am one of the recipient of the award but because everybody who won deserved it.
If you go through all the movies that were nominated and even those that eventually won awards, you can see that the winners deserved the award. It is normal to hear that some people are not happy with the outcome, but sincerely I think it was one of the best awards that ever happened in the history of Kannywood awards.

PvM: How did you feel when your name was called for the award of the Best Supporting Actor?

Lawal: I felt very happy and at the same time surprised because I never thought I will win the award. It really came as a surprise to me. I know I did very well in the movie Da’iman yet I wasn’t expecting it. I took it and it was indeed a great achievement for me.

PvM: Don’t you think you should have won the Best Actor Award?
Ali Nuhu was honoured with Best Actor award in the popular category at the second edition of Kanny Awards
Ali Nuhu was honoured with Best Actor award in the popular category at the second edition of Kanny Awards

Lawal: Yes, I should have but I am very comfortable with what I get now. I will keep pushing and pushing until I get the Best Actor Award which will be soon Insha Allah.

PVM:How soon?

Lawal: Very, very soon, because I have a series of good movies which are yet to hit the screen and I bet you when they are out it will surely be a bang for me and all Kannywood fans. I am looking at the next year’s awards.

MvP:Many people believe that the lead actor of the movie Hindu (Adam Zango) should have won the Best Actor Award, what would you say went wrong?

Lawal: This question is for the judges. I think the judges have their reasons for choosing the winners. There is always a criterion for everything and I think all winners met the laid criteria before they were announced at the event.

MvP: Who is your best actor?

Lawal: My best actor is myself. I think I am good enough to be my best actor. I cherish also some of my colleagues who are doing great. People like Ummah Shehu, Ali Nuhu, Adam Zango and etc.

PvM: How do you relax if you are not acting?

Lawal: I stay with my wife and kids, play with them and tell them stories.

PvM: What is your favourite dish?

Lawal: I love eating rice and beans. It is my favourite food.

PVS: Thanks for your time and the courage.

by Muhammad Lere

